Etsy fee calculator
Enter a price to see exactly what Etsy takes from a sale and what you keep, including the listing, transaction and processing fees.
Where you sell from
The region sets the currency and the fee schedule. Nothing is converted.
Options
Add-ons
You keep
$8.60
- Listing fee
- $0.20 per listing, renewed every four months whether or not the item sells.
- $0.20
- Transaction fee
- 6.5% of the item price, shipping and gift wrap.
- $0.65
- Payment processing
- 3% + $0.25 per order on Etsy Payments in the US.
- $0.55
Buyer pays
$10.00
All fees as % of price
14.0%
Unlockable at $10.00 — a direct link, not a marketplace
Buyer pays $11.00 · you keep $9.00
Fees checked on 19 October 2026. Sources: Etsy fees, Etsy Payments, Etsy processing.
Fees change. Check the platform’s own pricing page before you rely on this.
How Etsy fees work
Etsy charges four things on a digital sale. The listing fee is $0.20 per listing and renews every four months, whether or not the item sells. UK sellers see it as about £0.15, because Etsy converts the dollar figure at the market rate. The transaction fee is 6.5% of the item price plus shipping and gift wrap. The payment processing fee is 3% + $0.25 per order in the US and 4% + £0.20 in the UK. UK sellers also pay a 0.48% regulatory operating fee.
Offsite Ads is optional below $10,000 of prior-365-day sales and mandatory above it. It adds 15% or 12% of the order, capped at $100 (about £75 in the UK). The calculator has switches for both the ad and the shop-size threshold; the fee is charged on the item price, not on the buyer’s tax. UK sellers are also charged VAT on Etsy’s seller fees where applicable. Figures above are from Etsy’s own fees and payments pages, checked in October 2026.
Etsy also charges a 2.5% currency conversion fee when the listing currency differs from the currency of your payment account. This calculator does not include it, because the charge depends on the currencies involved.
Every Etsy fee, in one table
Fees checked on 19 October 2026.
| Product | US | UK | Typical for a creator? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Listing | $0.20 per listing | ≈£0.15 ($0.20 converted) | Modelled | Source |
| Transaction | 6.5% | 6.5% | Modelled | Source |
| Payment processing | 3% + $0.25 | 4% + £0.20 | Modelled | Source |
| Regulatory operating fee | – | 0.48% | Modelled | Source |
| Offsite Ads | 15%, or 12% at $10k+; capped at $100 | 15%, or 12% at $10k+; capped at about £75 | Modelled | Source |
| Auto-renew | $0.20 every four months until renewals are off | ≈£0.15 | Section | Source |
| Multi-quantity listing | $0.20 renewal each time an item sells | ≈£0.15 | Section | Source |
| Private listing | No fee until the item sells | Same | Section | Source |
| One-time shop setup feeBeing checked | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Section | Source |
| Etsy Plus | $10/month, with 15 listing credits and $5 Ads credit | $10/month | Listed only | Source |
| Pattern (own site) | $15/month after a 30-day trial | $15/month | Listed only | Source |
| Etsy Ads | Daily budget you set | Same | Listed only | Source |
| Currency conversion | 2.5% when listing and payment currencies differ | 2.5% | Section | Source |
| Deposit feesBeing checked | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Leaves out | Source |
| VAT on seller fees (UK) | – | Added where required | Section | Source |
“Being checked” marks a figure we have not confirmed on the platform’s own page; it is not modelled in the calculator.
Etsy fees at common prices
These are the default US figures, one listing and no Offsite Ads. They are generated from the same schedule as the calculator, so they cannot drift from it.
| Price | Buyer pays | Fees | You keep |
|---|---|---|---|
| $5.00 | $5.00 | $0.93 | $4.07 |
| $10.00 | $10.00 | $1.40 | $8.60 |
| $25.00 | $25.00 | $2.83 | $22.17 |
| $50.00 | $50.00 | $5.20 | $44.80 |
At $10 the fees are $0.20 listing + $0.65 transaction + $0.55 processing = $1.40, leaving $8.60. The seller-side percentage is 14%, not 6.5%, because it includes every fee on the sale.
Starting costs and the extra lines
The calculator models the four fees on a sale. A new shop has costs before the first sale: Etsy’s one-time setup fee where it applies (shown at sign-up, non-refundable) and the first listings at $0.20 each, or about £0.15. Etsy does not state a single setup figure on its public fees policy, so this page does not invent one.
Auto-renew charges $0.20 every four months until you turn it off. A multi-quantity listing charges another $0.20 renewal each time an item sells, which is a common surprise for a digital file with a large quantity. Private listings have no fee until the item sells.
Etsy Plus is $10/month with 15 listing credits and $5 of Etsy Ads credit. Pattern is $15/month after a 30-day trial. Etsy Ads use a daily budget you set. These are fixed or optional costs, not a percentage of the sale.
Etsy fees in the UK
The UK adds a 0.48% regulatory operating fee and uses 4% + £0.20 for processing. The listing fee is about £0.15, the $0.20 converted at Etsy’s rate. On a £10 sale: listing £0.15, transaction £0.65, processing £0.60 and regulatory £0.05, a total of £1.45 before VAT. The seller keeps £8.55.
VAT is added to Etsy’s seller fees where required. At 20% VAT the £1.45 of fees carries about £0.29 of VAT, so a non-VAT-registered seller’s effective cost is about £1.74 and the keep is about £8.26. A VAT-registered seller may be able to reclaim the VAT; the calculator does not model VAT because it depends on the seller’s status.
What the Etsy calculator leaves out
Deposit fees vary by market and are set out in the Etsy Payments Policy; the calculator does not model them. Currency conversion is a 2.5% add-on when the listing currency differs from the payment account. Offsite Ads is capped at $100, or about £75 in the UK. Sales tax, VAT on the item and optional subscriptions are separate.
How to keep more of each sale
Opt out of Offsite Ads while you can. Under $10,000 in prior-365-day sales, Etsy lets you turn them off. Above that, participation is required. If you rely on Etsy’s ads for discovery, price for the 12–15% rather than treating it as a surprise.
Put the bundle in one listing. The listing fee is per listing, so a template pack sold as one listing costs one fee. Splitting a product into five listings costs five fees and gives the buyer five decisions.
Do not price a digital product like a physical one. There is no shipping and no per-unit cost, so the 6.5% transaction fee is the main variable cost. A $5 product with a $0.20 listing fee and 3% + $0.25 processing has a much higher percentage cost than a $25 product; the fixed fees are the reason.
Use Etsy for discovery, not for the customer relationship. Etsy’s search traffic is the reason to be there. The buyer belongs to Etsy, and the price sits beside competitors’ listings. If you already have an audience, a direct link keeps the customer and the margin.
Etsy vs selling with one link
Etsy is the better choice when you have no audience and need search traffic. Its fees buy discovery, and for a first product that can be worth more than the percentage. It is also simpler than building a shop if you want a listing that can be found.
A direct Unlockable link is better when people already ask you for the file. You keep the buyer relationship, the price is not next to a page of similar listings, and the buyer pays the 10% privacy and security fee on top while card processing is covered by Unlockable. It is not automatically cheaper for the buyer: on a $10 sale Etsy leaves you $8.60 and Unlockable leaves you $9.00, but the buyer pays $11 instead of $10. The trade is ownership and control, not a free lunch. See Unlockable’s pricing and the platform comparison.
Related calculators and guides
Work through the full Etsy digital-product guide, compare every platform at once in the creator fee calculator, or check Gumroad’s fees if you are choosing between the two.
Frequently asked questions
- How much does Etsy take per sale?
- Etsy takes a 6.5% transaction fee, payment processing and a $0.20 listing fee. In the US, processing is 3% + $0.25 per order, so a $10 sale has $1.40 of fees and leaves $8.60 before any Offsite Ads charge. In the UK, the listing fee is about £0.15 (the $0.20 converted), processing is 4% + £0.20 and a 0.48% regulatory fee applies.
- Does Etsy charge fees on digital downloads?
- Yes. The transaction and processing fees apply to a digital sale exactly as they do to a physical one. There is no shipping and no shipping fee, but the listing fee and the 6.5% transaction fee still apply. Offsite Ads can add 15% if the order came through Etsy’s advertising.
- Are Etsy fees charged on shipping?
- The 6.5% transaction fee applies to the item price plus shipping and gift wrap. This calculator is built for digital products, so it has no shipping field. If you sell physical items, add the shipping charge to the price before comparing the percentage.
- What are Etsy Offsite Ads fees?
- Etsy charges 15% on orders its offsite advertising brings in for shops under $10,000 in the prior 365 days, and 12% at or above that threshold. The fee is capped at $100 per order, or about £75 in the UK. Shops under the threshold can opt out; larger shops cannot.
- Are Etsy fees subject to VAT?
- Etsy charges VAT on seller fees where applicable, including the listing, transaction and regulatory fees. Etsy’s help centre explains how VAT on seller fees is collected. This calculator does not add VAT, because the amount depends on the seller’s VAT status and location.
- Does Etsy charge to renew a listing?
- Yes. A listing costs $0.20 and renews every four months until you turn auto-renew off. If you sell a multi-quantity listing, Etsy charges another $0.20 renewal each time an item sells. That per-sale renewal is easy to miss on a digital file with a large quantity.
- Why was I charged $0.20 when my digital file sold?
- The $0.20 is the listing renewal or the per-item renewal on a multi-quantity listing, not a fee on the file itself. It is separate from the 6.5% transaction fee and payment processing. The calculator includes it as the listing fee; set the listing count to match the order.
- Is there a fee to open an Etsy shop?
- Etsy charges a one-time, non-refundable shop setup fee in some markets. Etsy shows the amount at sign-up, but its public fees policy does not state a single figure, so this page does not invent one. The calculator starts with listing fees, not the setup fee.
- What is Etsy Plus?
- Etsy Plus is an optional $10/month subscription with 15 listing credits and $5 of Etsy Ads credit. Pattern, Etsy’s own-site product, is $15/month after a 30-day trial. Neither is part of the per-sale calculator; they are fixed monthly costs.